How Do I...?
Click to Home
Go To Search
Vehicle Registration
Vehicle registration in Maine generally requires payment of an excise tax to the municipality in which the vehicle is kept and a registration fee to the State of Maine. The Town of Skowhegan acts as an agent for the State, most re-registrations and many first-time registrations are processed by the Town eliminating the need for a separate transaction with the state.

Re-Registration

  • Requirements for re-registration of a motor vehicle include:
  • Current Registration
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading
  • Re-registrations may be completed in-person, by-mail, or online.
Rapid Renewal Online Vehicle Registration Renewal
You can now re-register your vehicle online with Rapid Renewal! Get started now .

First Time Registrations
First-time registrations must be performed in-person at the Municipal Building.

Requirements if Purchased from Dealer or Private Sale
  • Dealer Invoice or Bill of Sale
  • Manufacturer's Window Sticker (if vehicle is new)
  • Maine Title Application
  • Proof of Insurance
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading
  • Current Registration (if transferring plates from your current vehicle)
  • Previous Owner's Title and Lien Release (if purchased in private sale)
  • Estates - If the vehicle is purchased or acquired from an estate, additional documentation is required -please call ahead

Requirements if Previously Registered to You in Another State
  • Title from state where last registered.
  • Registration from state where last registered.
  • Proof of Insurance meeting requirements of Maine law.
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading.

Vehicle Excise Tax
Unless exempt, the payment of an excise tax is required in order to register a vehicle. The amount of the tax is based on the maker's list price when new (manufacturer's suggested retail price) and the current age of the vehicle. The tax is equal to $24.00 dollars per thousand on each dollar of the maker's list price for the first or current year of model, $17.50 per thousand for the second year, $13.50 per thousand for the third year, $10 per thousand for the fourth year, $6.50 per thousand for the fifth year and $4.00 per thousand for the sixth and succeeding years. The minimum tax on a motor vehicle is $5.00. Excise tax is retained by the municipality and may be appropriated for any purpose for which a municipality may appropriate money.


Go To Search