How Do I...?
Click to Home
Go To Search
Vital Records
Certified copies of Birth, Marriage, and Death records are available at our office. The cost is $15.00 for the first copy and $6.00 for each additional one of the same certificate purchased at the same time. You may come into our office or order copies by mail.

New Vital Records Law Goes Into Effect Starting July 12, 2010
On July 12th, 2010 a new law preventing fraudulent use of vital records went into effect. Vital records include birth certificates, fetal death and death certificates, marriage certificates, and domestic partner registrations. Maine's new law require a person requesting a copy of records less than 100 years old to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.

Individuals who may access vital records less than 100 years old include:
  • The person named on the record
  • The person's spouse or registered domestic partner
  • The parent(s) named on the record
  • Descendants of the person named on the record
  • Registrant's legal custodian, guardian, or conservator or respective authorized representative (includes attorney, physician, or funeral director)
  • Genealogist who have a Maine CDC issued researcher identification card

Additional Requirements
Proof of identity must also be presented to the municipal and city clerks or state Vital Records Office staff. A brief application for securing a copy of the vital record must be filled out and presented, along with positive identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued picture identification that clearly shows that the person requesting the record is who they say they are. Identification requirements apply whether the records are requested in person or by mail.

Go To Search